02 / 07 / 2017

Andrew Hooley’s “Seven” is a 7 piece ensemble with more than a passing nod to the seminal jazz album “The Blues And The Abstract Truth”. Oliver Nelson’s 1961 Blue Note Classic is renowned for its distinctive front line harmonies blended with searing bop solos to produce a benchmark for jazz arranging outside the usual big band idiom.

Seven U.K. artists take up the mantle, including saxophonists Sam Walker, Dai Pritchard and Hooley himself, joined by trumpet bop exponent Chris Coull. The four horns are backed by a swinging rhythm section led by Mark Allis on drums, with Mat Casterton on bass and keys man David Beebee.

Between them they have appeared in jazz outfits The Stan Tracy Big Band, Loose Tubes and at venues such as Jazz At The Lincoln Center, Ronnie Scotts as well as various festivals and jazz clubs throughout the UK and further afield.

The group loyally recreate the classics of the album such as “Stolen Moments” and “Yearnin’” as well as some extra curricular additions from the likes of Brian Lynch and Art Blakey. The result is a smoothly grooving outfit with sumptuous harmonic colours punctuated by individual solo expositions indicative of the jazz tradition from which these musicians all emanate.  

Sign-Up For The
Latest Festival News